2017 Teck BC Championships at Stake Lake

Larch Hills wins the club trophy for the fourth year in a row!

The Larch Hills Junior Race Ski Team has been busy this month.  Three weeks ago over 30 team members raced to great results in the second of the BC Cup Series in Prince George, following the first race in that series held in Salmon Arm in early January.  Then on Family Day Weekend, Larch Hills locked up the Okanagan Teck Cup Series, beating the second place host club, Revelstoke, 545 points to 369.  Many team members put in spectacular performances and the sunny weather made it a great weekend for racers and spectators alike.

This past weekend was the final race in the Teck BC Series.  Hosted by Overlander Ski Club at Stake Lake near Kamloops, the event determines the provincial cross country Championships.  Friday was the mass start classic race, followed by the interval start skate race on Saturday and the relay races on Sunday.  At the end of Saturday’s skate race, individual aggregate points for the season are tallied and the provincial awards handed out.  This year, aggregates were presented to the overall top three racers in each age category.  In order to qualify for an annual aggregate award, skiers must have competed in four of the six BC Cup races and one must have been a classic race.


Larch Hills aggregate award winners by agewere:

2008 Girls:           1st - Sapphira Bucher

2008 Boys:           1st - Peter Liebich;  2nd - Asher Zuidhof

2007 Girls:           1st - Jeremia Bucher

2007 Boys:           1st - Max Calkins;  2nd - Dawson Bond

2006 Boys:           1st - Jonathon Breugem;  3rd - Ian van Bergeyk

2005 Girls:           1st - Hilary Vukadinovic;  2nd - Emily Carelse

2005 Boys:           1st - Mitchell Bond

2004 Girls:           1st - Julianne Moore;  2nd - Samantha Vukadinovic;  3rd - Zara Bucher

2003 Girls:           1st - Sophia Van Varseveld;  3rd - Claire van Bergeyk

2003 Boys:           2nd - Trond May

2002 Girls:           1st - Maggie Beckner

2001 Girls:           3rd - Rachel Bates

2000 Boys:           2nd - Konrad Van Varseveld

1999 Girls:           1st - Rachel May

1999 Boys:           3rd - David Bakker

97-98 Boys:         1st - Alexander Corbett;  2nd - Andrew Nash

Open Men:         1st - Adam Elliot

Masters Men

40 – 49:                 2nd - Jeremy Ayotte


The BC Championships end with the awarding of the club aggregate trophy, based on the points earned by the skiers over Saturday and Sunday, and, for the fourth year in a row, Larch Hills emerged the winner.  Team members showed off their blue and yellow colours in great numbers to take home the trophy, with participants from as young as four up to adults in their sixties putting in great performances for the Larch Hill ski team all weekend.

The relays are always a highlight as kids and adults don costumes, big smiles, put together with excellent skiing.  Special thanks are always given to our masters men’s and women’s teams for stepping up and giving the kids an opportunity to cheer for their parents.